About Globus

Globus is a pan-African multi-lingual network of insurance companies.

BACKGROUND

Driven by a common desire to offer a globalized and above all unique insurance service to international clients, a few major players in African insurance created in 2007 the first federated network of insurance companies. This network was named GLOBUS, to express its openness towards the whole world and portray its modernity.

ACTIVA ASSURANCES (Cameroon), LA LOYALE ASSURANCES (Ivory Coast), SONAR (Burkina Faso) and AGC (Republic of Congo) will lay the first stone of this new kind of structure in the African market. The workshop of Douala will lead to the official creation of the GLOBUS Network in the legal form of an Economic Interest Group.

The Logo will be approved and the managers will embark on their campaign to rally other companies and especially convince the European Risk Managers on the reliability of this platform.

Gradually the Network will take off and in 2008 it had up to 27 members. In 2009, this number increased to 30. The Network currently has 45 members and offers solutions in nearly 50 countries.

This growth was accompanied by a reorganization of the Network whose Board of Directors was enlarged to 6 members.

To harmonize the technical capacity and reinsurance as well as to constantly improve the quality of our service, numerous meetings and trainings are organized within the Network.

The financial reliability of the Globus Network is reinforced by the creation of a joint reinsurer (Globus Re), who retrocedes to the world's largest reinsurers. In addition, members of the network are invited to submit their companies to financial rating. Thus, the network's pioneers and driving force will all get the "A" rating from Africa’s number one rating agency, Global Credit Ratings (GCR) of South Africa.

A propos de nous

Le Réseau Globus est un réseau panafricain multilingue des compagnies d'assurance

Globus : L'Historique

Mus par une volonté commune d'offrir un service globalisé et surtout unique en matière d'assurances aux clients internationaux, quelques acteurs majeurs de l'assurance Africaine vont créer en 2007 le tout premier réseau fédéré des compagnies. Ce réseau sera baptisé GLOBUS, pour exprimer son ouverture vers le monde entier ainsi que sa modernité affichée.

ACTIVA ASSURANCES (Cameroun), LA LOYALE ASSURANCES (Côte d’Ivoire), SONAR (Burkina Faso), et AGC (République du Congo) vont poser les premières pierres de cet édifice d’un genre nouveau sur le marché Africain. Les travaux de Douala vont déboucher vers la création officielle du Réseau GLOBUS sous la forme juridique d’un Groupement d’Intérêt Economique (GIE).

Le Logo sera arrêté et les administrateurs vont prendre leur bâton de pèlerin pour rallier d'autres compagnies et surtout convaincre les Risk Managers Européens sur la fiabilité de cette plateforme.

Graduellement le Réseau va prendre son essor et en 2008 il va compter jusqu'à 27 membres. En 2009, ce nombre est passé à 30. Le Réseau compte actuellement 45 membres et offre des solutions dans près de 50 pays.

Cette croissance va s'accompagner par une restructuration du Réseau dont le Conseil d'Administration sera élargi à 6 membres.

Pour harmoniser les plateaux techniques et la réassurance ainsi que pour améliorer en permanence la qualité de notre service, de nombreuses réunions et formations sont organisées au sein du Réseau.

La fiabilité financière du Réseau Globus est confortée par l’existence d’un réassureur commun, (Globus Re), lequel rétrocède aux plus grands réassureurs mondiaux. Par ailleurs, les membres du réseau sont invités à se soumettre à la notation financière. Ainsi, les pionniers et locomotives du Réseau vont tous obtenir la notation « A ».